A maximalist’s journey into minimalism. Chapter One.

2017 was a year of many changes for me – it felt like I had entered a new level in a game, in terms of … maturity? Life skills? Something along those lines.

But as with many things, this manifested in the form of several external changes – namely an itch to attempt a minimalist lifestyle (or at the very least achieve some sort of ‘mediumalism’).

Now I should preface this by explaining that I had a lot of ‘stuff’, and knickknacks, and a substantial junk draw – yes, you know the one. My room had been a beautiful bright blue colour (called Malibu, if that explains anything), which I had picked as an 11 year old – and still adorned my walls at the age of 22. I had (and still do) a mismatch of furniture; a rimu bed my dad made; a blue bookcase I have had since about the age of 7; and two (misc) wooden sets of drawers, next to each other; one about 10cm taller than the other. And a white desk… that at least has some semblance of ‘polish’.

I think my parents would describe me as having mild hoarding tendencies, though I of course always disagree. I like stuff, and am really very sentimental (to my detriment). I also think that part of this comes from that fact that when my parents and I moved to New Zealand, we barely had anything. So, the ‘stuff’ and the ‘junk’ we accumulated since, acquired a certain subconscious value and ‘preciousness’.

 

Enough back story though. This chapter concerns itself with my beginning interest in minimalism and scandi aesthetics.

 

I knew deep down I had too much junk, but I never confronted myself on this – until the end of 2016.  The thing is, I wasn’t ever a neat maximalist either – I am very much a messy person (yet also quite pedantic, thus I encounter a lot of inner conflict). My first step on this journey included borrowing from the library, Marie Kondo’s The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up.  Yes I know, how original of me.

 Disclaimer: I didn’t finish it because I had to return it and didn’t get around to getting it out again – I am but a human.

 She advises going through categories of stuff, from easiest to hardest to tidy – i.e. Clothes, then books etc – I won’t relay everything to you, go read it yourself.

She advises to get rid of anything that doesn’t ‘spark joy’, but to still thank it for its use – feels a bit funny, but a good way to practice gratitude if you are into that. She outlines a useful folding method too.

 

Pano

A sweet pano of the ‘it can only get better from here’ part of the wardrobe purge.

 

I started with a MASSIVE wardrobe/ clothing clear as per KonMari’s suggestion. I pulled out everything from my wardrobe and draws – as you can see in the sweet pano, it was a sight to behold. By reducing the amount of clothes I had, and folding and sorting them with the KonMari method, I, a messy maximalist, managed to keep draws and wardrobe neat and organised for A WHOLE YEAR!!!!

 

Draw 1

Exercise gear – tops left, bottoms right

Draw 2

Tops – long sleeve tops to sleeveless, and ‘around the house tops’ (left to right)

 

Yes, the folding is a bit more laborious than chucking a shirt into a random draw – hence why I still am battling with the ever-forming clothes pile… but at least my draws have been spic and span.

 

Wardrobe 2

Knits

 

I also organised my hanging items by category, and attempted to by colour – which has made it more organised. A tip I found handy, was to (attempt to) use the same type of hanger, because it makes it look more uniform. Having them all face the same way helps too.

 

Wardrobe 5

Shirts (mainly)

Wardrobe 6

Jackets (and shirts)

 

I previously had used a plastic 3-tier set of draws for my shoes but had always found it frustrating, so I replaced that with a shoe rack, which for sure worked better.

 

20161221_212835

Shoes

 

I did do a bit of a clear out of my bookcase too, but I feel there is still a bit of work to be done there. I jokingly refer to it as ‘the shrine to my former self’, because I kept a lot of my old knickknacks.

I have had a couple of other smaller clear outs since – when I painted my room (the next instalment in this series), and when I was heavily procrastinating on an assignment. I am probably due for another bigger clear out, so please let me know if you would be interested in that process.

 

X

Bo

Leave a comment